North Carolina Car ShowsNorth Carolina Car Shows
Skip Navigation LinksNorth Carolina Car Shows > North Carolina Dui

North Carolina Dui


By Snowhat

Your friends invite you out to eat. Little did you know it was the best NC Bar & Grill that you ended up eating at. They offer to buy you a drink and you say no, knowing that you have to drive home. Somehow they still convince you to have a couple of drinks. When it comes time to get back to the wife, you think, “Well, my last drink was an hour ago, I have food in my stomach, and I didn’t even drank that much,” and you decide to drive yourself home. On the way home you get pulled over and tested by a cop for alcohol. You just got convicted with a DUI.

Well how did that happen? But what’s done is done. What is going to happen in your future? What can you expect from getting a DUI in North Carolina?

NC DUI Laws

There are many different NC rules about DUI, and many different types of DUIs.

  • DUI; Simple DUI, a BAC (Blood Alcohol Level) of .08, a .04 BAC for a commercial driver, and any BAC from a minor under 21.
  • F DUI; F DUI or Felony DUI is attained by a Level 1 or Level 2 punishment.

North Carolina DUI Punishments

Here are the different types of DUI. But what are the punishments for said DUIs?

  • Level 5; 24 hours of jail time, 24 hours of Community service, or a combination of the two and a fine of up to 200 dollars
  • Level 4; 48 hours of jail time, 48 hours of Community service, or a combination of the two and a fine of up to 500 dollars
  • Level 3; 72 hours of jail time, 72 hours of Community service, or a combination of the two and a fine of up to 500 dollars

The Next two types of punishment are set aside differently because of what you have to do to get a level 1 or 2 punishment

  • Level 2; A fine of 2,000 dollars and 7 days to 1 year in jail
  • Level 1; A fine of 4,000 dollars and 30 days to 2 years in jail

Here comes one of the more important parts of the level 1 and 2 punishments, how to get one. There are a few requirements, if you do two or more of the following you will get a Level 1 punishment, if you only do 1 you will get a level 2 punishment

  • BAC of .15 or more
  • Reckless driving or accident
  • Drivers license revoked at time of DUI
  • Previous DUIs
  • Speeding while attempting to avoid officers
  • Illegally passing a school bus
  • Speeding 30 MPH over the posted speed limit

If perchance you do get a DUI, there are many NC DUI attorneys that you can look up to help lessen the effects of your DUI.

As you can see none of the types of punishment are pleasant for a DUI in North Carolina. The best way that you can avoid getting a DUI is not to drink at all before you drive and if you have drank something call a sober friend to come pick you up.